Tags

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/20/daily-prompt-papa-loves-mambo/

What sort of music was played in your house when you were growing up? What effect, (if any) did it have on your musical tastes?

My mother listens to almost everything on the dial. Rock, country, opera, ballads, country, instrumental, the list is endless.

My dad listens to country. The older and twangier the better. 

Some songs will always stir up memories. Long car rides, singing at the top of our lungs. My dad inching up the volume to block our clamor. My songs they used to listen to still show up in my own playlists. They take me back to the days when mom when put a cd into her radio and pump the melody throughout the house. How some songs would encourage her to sing along if she was in the right mood. Of cds we borrowed from her and listened to as we drifted off to sleep. 

I always loved how my parents were such polar opposites in their music choices yet they each found a middle ground. There are some singers my dad loves who mom will not put up with and vice versa. But there are many they agree on or at least endure. They find common ground and patience in un-commonality. Their differences make them better. Stronger.

I know that we will be the same way.

You hate some of my sad music and only endure the rest. You have amazing music taste. But there are still a few I can’t stand. But I love that you love them.

Music is a very telling thing. It reveals much about your character, the words and melodies that strike hardest at your heart strings. Your playlists and cherished albums speak volumes about your soul. My favorite songs are the ones that make me think of you.