Tags

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/04/05/daily-prompt-express-yourself/

Do you love to dance, sing, write, sculpt, paint, or debate? What’s your favorite way to express yourself, creatively?

Writing.

I love to write. Stringing letters into words and words into sentences. Watering sentences till they grow into paragraphs and then multiply into stories. That is what I love.

I have no talent. I can barely draw stick figures. Sculpting is far beyond even my imagination. I am too shy to debate. The words from my lips constantly tie themselves up into undecipherable jumbles. I am too clumsy to dance and too weak for athletics. 

But alone with my computer or with pad and pen, the words flow out. Like beads sliding onto a string to slowly reveal intricate jewelry. 

It relaxes me. It inspires me. It lifts my soul. It helps me become a better person. It brightens my thoughts and my mood. 

It makes me happy. 

And that is why, although my writing barely sees the light of day and is noted by barely a handful of people, I keep punching away at this keyboard. My essays do not change the world but they change me. 

