Tags

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/24/daily-prompt-sixteen-tons/

How do you feel about your job? Do you spring out of bed, looking forward to work? Or, is your job a soul-destroying monotony of pure drudgery, or somewhere in between?

It’s convenient that this prompt comes today. I am starting the countdown to the end of my run at this position and the beginning of a new one. 

I love my current job. I have it down to a science. I am the best at it. An authority people go to for help. It is fun. But it has become drudgery. Bad, unpredictable hours. Difficult people to work with. 

So I interviewed for a new position and got it. The hours are much earlier but more regimented. I will work with the guy I love more often. The work is new and exciting. I am very optimistic.

As a whole, I like my workplace. A lot of the people are lazy and difficult to work with. The pay is relatively low. The promotions are now restricted. 

But there are a lot of good people. I met my soulmate there on my very first day. I get to see him there almost every day. Sometimes I get to work at the same time as him and hear his voice. I get to hear the praise when he does well and feel proud. We get to share everything about work and understand better than most.

This job changed my life for the better. It gave me you. For that, I am forever grateful.

