Tags

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/14/daily-prompt-brilliant-disguise/

Tell us about a time when someone had you completely fooled, where the wool was pulled right over your eyes and you got hoodwinked, but good. Was it a humorous experience or one you’d rather forget? What was the outcome?

You tricked me. With your friendship and your attention. 

I could not resist going along. We were only friends. I could do that. I happily dove right in, snatching up the brief conversations and the waves as you came and left. The watching for you to arrive and straining to catch glimpses of you. 

I lingered in parking lots to talk to you for long hours after work. I hurried to breaks so I could hang out with you. I even agreed to dinner.

Because we were only friends. You had no further affection for me. It was simple and fun.

But that was your ruse. Because you did feel more. Much more. But you hid it away, playing the fool. The innocent, charming fool who felt no more than comradeship with a fellow worker.

I fell blindly into your schemes. 

Your smile and your attention. Your genuine words of kindness and humor. Your hard work and your realness. They all were piled up against me. Soon I fell.

In love. 

I never meant to but you blindsided me.

You tricked me into the realest feeling I’ve ever experienced.

