Tags

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/12/daily-prompt-if-you-leave/

Life is a series of beginnings and endings. We leave one job to start another; we quit cities, countries, or continents for a fresh start; we leave lovers and begin new relationships. What was the last thing you contemplated leaving? What were the pros and cons? Have you made up your mind? What will you choose?

I haven’t left many things. I left a boy I had a crush on for you. But that was hardly leaving. More like a realization.

But I ponder leaving many things.

My job. I am underpaid and unable to promote because of company-wide downsizing. But I cannot bear to leave it. It is the place we met and teetered into love. It is the place where we can work together on opposite ends of the building. I can hear your voice and look up to see you once in a while. Being near you, is worth more than money or status.

My home. I am leaving that. Soon. The place I grew up in. The building where most of my childhood memories and imaginations bloomed. But in a few long months, you and I shall be as one. We shall start our own adventure in a place of our own choosing and funding.

I do know that whatever I leave and wherever I stay, the only thing that matters is the one who is holding my hand. If you are at my side, the world is at my feet. All other things are but a loss. If I had to leave everything to be with you, I would.

Luckily for me, I do not have to. You and I and everything else can live together and be forever happy. I will never leave you and you will never leave my thoughts.

