Tags

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/10/daily-prompt-heat/

Do you thrive under pressure or crumble at the thought of it? Does your best stuff surface as the deadline approaches or do you need to iterate, day after day to achieve something you’re proud of? Tell us how you work best.

I make no sense. I get nervous over the silly things and am perfectly calm about terrifying things.

A plane crash = calm. A police car running radar = my heart will race for the next hour. Spiders, snakes, bugs, worms = not a tremor. Talking to my boss about a change in my position = terror. My first job interview = piece of cake. Going out with you = calm as a cucumber. Asking my parents to go = chaos inside.

I suppose that is the thing about fears. They are generally irrational. But they can be conquered. Their presence makes you feel weak inside but, if handled correctly, they will make you strong.

Facing your fears is such a cliche. But it is a cliche for a reason, because it is true. Fears pale at the sight of someone rebelling against them. And often the thing you were afraid of because trivial or even enjoyable when you dare to finally do it. 

But more than that, our quirky little fears are part of what makes us who we are. We are the collection of our features and our habits. Our mannerisms and our sense of humor. Our fears and our loves. 

