Tags

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/08/daily-prompt-careless-whisper/

It happens: sometimes that filter in our head bursts and we say too much of what we’re thinking and someone gets hurt. Tell us about a time you or someone you know said something that they immediately regretted.

I regret a lot of things. I’m a mess. I do stupid, petty things on a daily basis.

But those mistakes shaped me into who I am. Learning how to get out of scrapes and how to apologize, albeit uncomfortable, have made me stronger, more full of character.

What I regret the most are the times I did not speak.

When I allowed my sister’s boyfriend’s character to slowly raise it’s disfigured, cruel head, and did not warn her. When I spoke cruelly of him, but did not show her the unwiseness of her choices with patience. When I pushed her away and avoided them, instead of pleading with her to see how her future is being jeopardized. And now it is too late.

I regret the times I did not have with the people I love. I regret being too busy to be with my grandfather. I assumed things would last, not forever, but at least a while longer. Now he no longer recognizes me and it is too late to tell him I love him. He cannot hear. 

But I take courage from these regrets when I can. I learn to love and take every opportunity. I learn to say what I need. To swallow my regrets and use them to build a better foundation for my life. 

