Tags

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/06/prompt-time-after-time/

Traditions: we’ve all got ‘em. What is it about your traditions that keep them going strong for you?

My favorite tradition happens almost every Thursday. Estate sales.

It’s a long family tradition to poke through people’s old stuff they are trying to get rid of to find that one treasure. It’s amazing how many amazing things that can be found for a steal.

My fiance has gotten quite interested in it. He buys donuts and we all pile into his car to go adventuring through the city. We get to walk through amazing old houses and elaborate new ones. And buy lots of random things. Old cameras, ironic coffee cups, wooden boxes, patterned scarves and so on. The list is endless.

I even have a human skull made of styrofoam I found at an estate sale for a quarter.

But the best part is just being with the people I love. Holding the piles of random things my mother finds, little trinkets that make her happy. Showing my sister the things I think she’ll like. Lingering in rooms until everyone else leaves, to steal a kiss. Guessing at the type of people who used to live there.

But most of all, I just love spending the afternoon with you. (and donuts).

